Hannover, Germany
+49 (0)511 763 847 60

Marine industry:

The marine industry is a global operating industry in a volatile market. The market is mainly split into merchant and offshore products. The offshore industry is linked to global exploration of oil & gas. The whole industry is working on small series or customer specific orders. In a volatile market, closeness to the customer and a global supply chain linked to market and own business goals are a challenge. In addition, the focus on best cost countries is still a competitive factor. We support especially critical projects where suppliers have to be changed immediately. This is where our consultants profit of their process optimization knowledge and experience.

Consulting and service portfolio:

  • Purchasing processes and optimization
  • Supply Chain Management
  • Transfer of work
  • Supplier development

References:

Rolls-Royce Marine

Selected success storys:

For a huge global company operating in Marine business we have delivered several projects to integrate a new supply chain for critical components or systems. This covers project in the merchant market as well as in offshore market.

The overall goal of these projects has been to establish a cost efficient and powerful supply chain, that is capable to deliver high quality to best prices in a global operating market. Out role in these project is to be the integrated project team leader and also we are supporting the operational transfer and ramp-up phase also by a professional project management office.

Main focus of our projects has been the commodities castings and machined parts for the application within propulsion, steering gears and deck machinery.

Replacement screws on the ship at the dock.

riskNormal lead time for a project various between 6 to 18 months depending on complexity and quantity of items involved. Main argument for our customers to use our expertise has been: gain transparency, play a neutral role between commercial and technical targets und secure the continuity of supply within the transfer / rampu-up due to the experience and holistic view of value stream processes.

A professional risk management and the linked follow-up of risk mitigation activities is one of our key project management instruments which are using to evaluate the risks and to install governance principles like stakeholder structure.

For a huge global company operating in Marine business we have done a project to run and further adapt the standard process for ‘transfer of work’ on the special requirements of the industry the customer is working in.

scm

The overall goal of the project was to check the existing standard process by process analysis backed up by real life projects to establish an adapted process map on the next matured level and reflecting the special requirements of the company and market. The new process and aligned resource plan should be streamlined and defined lean and smart.

Within the project we have analysed the process and detected weak points as unbalanced resource requirements or dependency rules between commercial and technical evaluation process. Blocking points have been eliminated and a reorganized process has been defined and established.

The new defined process has been validated by practical application and derived lessons learned cycles. At the end the process was less complex, less resource consuming and the user acceptance was given, because the adapted process has reflected real business needs. On the following picture you can see a schematic draft of the process.

scrp

The average lead time for such a project is 3 to 6 months depending on exiting process maturity level, required integration into different functions, training and roll-out requirements and complexity.

You can find additional success stories in the project examples section.

Hannover, Deutschland
+49 (0)511 763 847 60

Schifffahrtsindustrie:

Die Schifffahrtsindustrie ist ein globaler und sehr volatiler Markt, in welchem sich einzelne Bereiche auf bestimmte Märkte wie Schiffsausrüstung, Öl und Gas, Frachtschiffe oder Erkundung spezialisiert haben. Bei der Produktion von vielen Komponenten für die Schifffahrt gilt es zu beachten, dass die benötigten Einzelteile in der Regel nur in Kleinserie gefertigt werden und sehr groß und schwer sein können, was spezielle Anforderungen an Logistik und Supply Chain Management stellt. Insbesondere bei kritischen Supply Chain Projekten, wo kurzfristig ein oder mehrere Lieferanten gewechselt werden, initiieren und unterstützen unsere Projektleiter.

Beratungsleistungen:

  • Supply Chain Management
  • Lieferantenwechsel
  • Einkaufsstrategie und -prozesse
  • Lean Management / Lean Manufacturing Methoden
  • Systemgestütztes Kostenmanagement

Referenzen:

Rolls-Royce Marine

Ausgewählte Projekterfolge

Für einen großen internationalen Konzern im Bereich Schifffahrtsindustrie haben wir zahlreiche Projekte im Bereich der Integration von neuen Lieferanten für kritische Komponenten oder Systeme durchgeführt.

Ziel dieser Projekte ist die Etablierung einer kosteneffizienten und leistungsstarken Lieferkette, die den globalen Anforderungen und hohen Qualitätsansprüchen gerecht werden kann. Bei diesen Projekten übernehmen wir die Rolle der Projektleitung und stellen auch das Projektmanagement Office. In dieser Rolle setzen wir das Supply Chain Transfer Projekt verantwortlich gegenüber dem Management mit einem interdisziplinären Projektteam um.

Wir haben Projekte für komplexe Komponenten oder Systeme durchgeführt, hauptsächlich für die Produktgruppen: Gussteile und Fertigungsteile für eine Anwendung im Bereich Antriebskomponenten, Steuerung und Ruder sowie Handlingssysteme zum Beispiel für Winden und Ankersysteme.

Replacement screws on the ship at the dock.

Diriske Projekte hatten jeweils eine Laufzeit von 6 bis 18 Monaten und sind oftmals von einem Multi-Projektmanagement-Ansatz geprägt. Transparenz, Neutralität als Projektleitung zwischen kommerziellen und technischen Fraktionen sowie die Sicherstellung der Lieferfähigkeit durch die Lieferkette sind wesentliche Gründe für unseren Einsatz gewesen.

Ein strukturiertes Risikomanagement und die Definition und Verfolgung von Maßnahmen zur Risikominimierung stellen ein Projektsteuerungsinstrument dar, welches wir auch über entsprechende Governance Regeln (Steuerungskreise, etc.) verankern.

Für einen großen internationalen Konzern im Bereich Schifffahrtsindustrie haben wir den Standardprozess für ‚gesteuerte Änderungen in der Lieferkette‘ mit evaluiert und den Prozess den speziellen Anforderungen der Schifffahrtsindustrie mit angepasst.

einkauf_k

Das Ziel des Projektes bestand darin, den vorhandenen Prozess zur sicheren Umstrukturierung der Lieferkette steuerbarer, wiederholbarer und transparenter zu machen. Der Prozess sollte zudem an die speziellen Anforderungen der Industrie angepasst werden und auch das verfügbare Ressourcenangebot bei dem Prozessdesign mit berücksichtig werden.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen wurde eine Bestandsanalyse durchgeführt. Dabei wurden Problemfelder wie zum Beispiel ein unausgewogenes Ressourcenprofil oder die Abhängigkeitsregeln zwischen kommerzieller und technischer Evaluierung bewertet. Für diese und andere Themenstellungen wurden dann die bestehenden Prozesse adaptiert und als neuer Standard etabliert.

Durch die parallel begleitenden Projekte haben wir den Prozess anhand von praktischen Projekten validiert oder über „lessons leanred“ Zyklen noch einmal leicht angepasst. Damit wurde der Prozess weniger komplex und auch vom Ressourcenbedarf pragmatischer (durch eine Verringerung der Prozessschritte und damit der Komplexität). Folgendes Schaubild gibt einen Überblick auf schematischer Ebene über den Prozess.

scrp

Bezüglich der Laufzeit eines solchen Projektes ist diese abhängig von der vorhandenen Prozessinfrastruktur, als auch von der gewünschten Komplexitätsreduzierung. Generell liegt die Dauer aber bei ca. 3 – 6 Monaten.

Weitere Beispiele erfolgreicher Projekte finden Sie unter Projektbeispiele.